With saturation direct mail tracking, dentists can measure patient response rates and learn valuable results of mailer effectiveness, ROI, and influence on practice growth. Through actionable insights and analytics, revenue streams tied to marketing objectives identify production quantity, procedure value, and quality leads.
What is direct mail tracking?
Direct mail tracking uses a tagged telephone number, SMS number or personalized URL, commonly known as a pURL, to measure recipient response rates to promotional advertising. Optimizing direct mail based on tracking results leads to growth, profit and wealth so understanding what to track and how it ladders back to business goals is important.
How are call conversions measured?
A customized inbound call tracking number on mail pieces offers insights about leads. Proprietary call analysis technology measures the intent and potential production from the conversation. Valuable data skimmed from each interaction uncovers potential production opportunities.
The result of call analysis determines a more targeted marketing strategy, remarketing and serving paid advertising to people with similar intent and delivering measurable Return On Ad Spend.
Why include tagged SMS numbers?
SMS numbers and direct mail tracking are a perfect match for audience penetration and conversion. Texts sent using a personal pin on the mailer include a tag that delivers data to an online dashboard about the quality of the lead, and which mail campaign a prospect is being driven from.
Given direct mail’s household response rates increased by almost 4% to 9% – practices might create multiple, reliable revenue streams with various campaigns to different zip codes using a tagged SMS number to measure effectiveness.
What is a pURL?
Commonly known as a personalized URL, a pURL gathers meaningful insights into online behavior. pURLs can be custom-created to display the name of the recipient on direct mail, like www.conversionwhale.com/janedoe, making it uniquely personal.
The pURL directs a patient to a landing page on the practice website that focuses on the promotional offer. When a patient lands on the page and takes an action such as schedules an appointment as a new patient, sets up an emergency examination or redeems a limited offer for a dental visit, it’s logged as an action on a response tracking dashboard.
Through a pURL action, dentists can learn more about their direct mail effectiveness. Depending on the marketing objectives for the mailer, data such as website impressions and conversions, to who hasn’t visited the page, is used to follow-up with patients.
What effect does mail have on production quantity?
Since mailers are the most household receptive, practices with the goal of increasing production use saturation direct mail to attract, drive patients and encourage return visits. By adding personalization and relevance, practices may boost response rates by 10 to 30 times more than digital marketing.
Since the average mailer life-cycle in households can be for as long as 17 days, direct mail is the most cost-efficient, highly responsive means to reach large, unknown audiences to increase production.
To better understand the impact of a single campaign, a dentist can calculate effectiveness by adding up the total number of people that responded and dividing it by the number of mailers delivered.
Measurement metrics placed on each mailer not only show who has responded but who has not, so dental practices can follow-up with qualified leads and increase production.
Why is AdSpend important to ROI?
Measuring the cost-per-mailer to the value-per-patient acquisition contributes towards the practice’s revenue stream and influences optimizations to the direct mail strategy. In marketing, the outcome of mailer-cost-to-patient-acquisition results in Return On Ad Spend, or ROAS, which measures the effectiveness of a direct mail campaign.
An example of ROAS is 1:6.3, which means $1 spent on mail advertising for every $6.30 earned in revenue from a patient.
ROAS is a preferred method of working out revenue for patient conversion value. The worth of each patient depends on what procedures they need and the frequency of dental visits.
How to calculate AdSpend
Adspend based on average direct mail response rate to the dental practice.
- Minimum quantity of mailers sent 5,000
- Estimated cost per mailer $0.70
- Total adspend on mailer $3,500.00
If a mailer produces an average 9% response rate, or 450 conversions, from the children’s teeth cleaning offer in the mailer, then the following profit to practice could look like this.
How to work out ROAS
ROI based on average direct mail response rate to dental practice.
- Average cost of a child’s teeth cleaning $65.00
- Revenue generated from 1,450 conversion $29,250.00
- Subtract adspend $3,500.00
- Return On Investment $25,750.00
Get started here!
Let us show you how Conversion Whale has created measurable, data-driven results from saturation direct mail for dentists.